Friday, May 25, 2018

Book Review: Bruja Born

Title: Bruja Born (Brooklyn Brujas #2)
Author: Zoraida Cordova
Genre: Young Adult | Urban Fantasy | Magic
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC


Three sisters. One spell. Countless dead.
Lula Mortiz feels like an outsider. Her sister's newfound Encantrix powers have wounded her in ways that Lula's bruja healing powers can't fix, and she longs for the comfort her family once brought her. Thank the Deos for Maks, her sweet, steady boyfriend who sees the beauty within her and brings light to her life.
Then a bus crash turns Lula's world upside down. Her classmates are all dead, including Maks. But Lula was born to heal, to fix. She can bring Maks back, even if it means seeking help from her sisters and defying Death herself. But magic that defies the laws of the deos is dangerous. Unpredictable. And when the dust settles, Maks isn't the only one who's been brought back...(goodreads)


This series needs to be no fewer than 10 books, I never want this to end!
Thursday, May 24, 2018

Book Review: A Court of Frost and Starlight

Title: A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: New Adult | Fantasy | Romance
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date: May 1, 2018
Source: Purchased
Format: Physical


Feyre, Rhys, and their close-knit circle of friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly-changed world beyond. But Winter Solstice is finally near, and with it, a hard-earned reprieve. 
Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated--scars that will have far-reaching impact on the future of their Court (goodreads)


A Court of Frost and Starlight felt like a reunion between old friends. 
Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday [#137]


 



Title: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
Author: Various
Genre: Young Adult |Fantasy | Short Stories
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: June 26, 2018

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.
Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.
Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.
A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me (goodreads).
Tuesday, May 22, 2018

First Thoughts [#168]

First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.



Monday, May 21, 2018

When covers don't make any sense


I'll happily admit that the reason why I research a book is because the cover tells an interesting story. There have been a few times when I've been fooled by the cover. You know, when the cover shows two swords clashing and it's really a young adult contemporary novel? Okay maybe not that extreme, but you know what I mean. Here are some covers that led me astray. 
Thursday, May 17, 2018

Book Review: Furyborn



Title: Furyborn (The Empirium #1)
Author: Claire Legrand
Genre: New Adult | Fantasy | Magic
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: May 22, 2018
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC



When assassins ambush her best friend, the crown prince, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing her ability to perform all seven kinds of elemental magic. The only people who should possess this extraordinary power are a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light and salvation and a queen of blood and destruction. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven trials to test her magic. If she fails, she will be executed...unless the trials kill her first.
A thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a mere fairy tale to bounty hunter Eliana Ferracora. When the Undying Empire conquered her kingdom, she embraced violence to keep her family alive. Now, she believes herself untouchable--until her mother vanishes without a trace, along with countless other women in their city. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain on a dangerous mission and discovers that the evil at the heart of the empire is more terrible than she ever imagined.
As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world--and of each other (goodreads).


Furyborn is for us fantasy lovers!
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018

First Thoughts [#167]

First Thoughts is a feature where I give my initial impression of my current read.


Monday, May 14, 2018

Love is in the Air: Epic Reads Spring Tour


The Epic Reads Spring Tour came to Chicago and I was excited to hear from some of the leading ladies in contemporary YA, and FINALLY meet Becky Albertalli!
Friday, May 11, 2018

Book Review: From Twinkle, With Love

Title: From Twinkle, With Love
Author: Sandhya Menon
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publication Date: May 22, 2018
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC

Aspiring filmmaker and wallflower Twinkle Mehra has stories she wants to tell and universes she wants to explore, if only the world would listen. So when fellow film geek Sahil Roy approaches her to direct a movie for the upcoming Summer Festival, Twinkle is all over it. The chance to publicly showcase her voice as a director? Dream come true. The fact that it gets her closer to her longtime crush, Neil Roy—a.k.a. Sahil’s twin brother? Dream come true x 2.
When mystery man “N” begins emailing her, Twinkle is sure it’s Neil, finally ready to begin their happily-ever-after. The only slightly inconvenient problem is that, in the course of movie-making, she’s fallen madly in love with the irresistibly adorkable Sahil.
Twinkle soon realizes that resistance is futile: The romance she’s got is not the one she’s scripted. But will it be enough?
Told through the letters Twinkle writes to her favorite female filmmakers, From Twinkle, with Love navigates big truths about friendship, family, and the unexpected places love can find you (goodreads).


From Twinkle, With Love was charming.